“The lady hawker”

“I got cucumber and garlic for you!” “I got cucumber and garlic for you!”

on top of her voice, the lady hawker shouts on a rainy morning,

I looked out, still on my bed under the blanket.

She sees me through the window and says “I got cucumber and garlic!”

Nodding my head, I express my disinterest.

She cries again ” I got cumber, garlic, and mustard leaves too!”

I stared at her. She looked at me.

Raising my hand, I signal for her to wait. She obliges and the shouting stops.

On my feet hurriedly, I venture out to only to find her at the door,

I say, “How much the cucumbers?”

She stares at my eyes,

Again, I inquired, ” How much these leaves?”

She says nothing.

Frustrated, I got. She smiles, pointing at the garlic and replies,” these are fresh too!”

Now, I got fed up. She still smiling.

“Ok, I take only the cucumbers.” Her smile fades..

“Fine. I take the leaves!’ She stares astonishingly.”

“…and the garlics too!” She is happy.. Her eyes turn beautiful.

“Thank you, Mister!” She bids and adds, “Tonight, my children won’t sleep empty stomach.”

I got speechless. I say nothing. I just smile.

#covidstories

#life #ladyhawker

Leave a comment